ACLALS was started in 1964 with a conference at the University of Leeds and was officially accredited to the Commonwealth in 2005.

The objectives of ACLALS are to:

  • Promote and coordinate Commonwealth Literature Studies,
  • Organize seminars and workshops,
  • Arrange lectures by writers and scholars,
  • Publish a newsletter about activities in the field of Commonwealth Literature and
  • Hold one conference triennially. The last conference took place in July 2016 in South Africa, and the next edition will be held in Auckland, New Zealand, in 2019.

Membership in ACLALS is offered through its local branches in Commonwealth countries. Please email the chairpersons of the branches for further information.

Contact details for the current ACLALS representatives can be found in the Committee section.

Comments are closed